top of page

About The Washington County Liquor Board

Agenda for Board Meeting


       The State of Maryland empowers the Board of License Commissioners (commonly referred to as the Liquor Board) to administer and enforce the provisions of the Annotated Code of Maryland. The Board has adopted its own Rules and Regulations necessary to carry out its duties under the Annotated Code of Maryland.

      The Board of License Commissioners is comprised of 3 board members who are appointed by the Governor of Maryland and serve staggered 6-year terms. The appointees are designated to serve as chairman, secretary and treasurer.

      The Board of License Commissioners employs an administrator to oversee daily functions, an administrative assistant and two inspectors who are responsible for conducting inspections and/or surveillance investigations of licensed facilities to ensure compliance with all applicable state and county laws, rules and regulations.


The Liquor Board Staff:

  • Processes new liquor license applications and requests such as: ownership transfer, change of location, change of name, extension of premises, officer changes, change of license type, etc.
  • Maintains license records and handles all correspondence
  • Schedules and attends all Board meetings and public hearings for licensees
  • Responds to daily inquiries regarding alcoholic beverage licenses and laws

Liquor Board Functions:

The Liquor Board Commissioners meet every Wednesday when they have scheduled hearings from 10:00 am – 12:00 pm at 1260 Maryland Avenue, Ste. 104, Hagerstown, Maryland, with the exception of certain holidays. The Board regulates all liquor licenses for Washington County, they approve or disapprove license transfers, issue “one day event” liquor licenses for non-profit organizations and Corporations that hold an EIN number and renews all liquor licenses on an annual basis. In addition, the Board holds hearings on violations of Annotated Code of Maryland and the Washington County Liquor Board Rules and Regulations. The Board can impose monetary penalties, suspend or revoke licenses upon a finding of licensee misconduct resulting in a violation.


Alan Levin - Chairman - Appointed - June 1, 2019, to May 31, 2025

Robert J. Buczkowski - Commissioner - Appointed - June 1, 2015, to May 31, 2021 - Re-Appointed - June 1, 2021, to May 31, 2027    

Maureen Grove - Commissioner - Appointed - June 1, 2023, to May 31, 2029 



Ronald Frey  



Vaun Marie Miles


Administrative Assistant

Karen Lawhorne                   

  • Facebook

Alan Levin - Chairman

Robert J. Buczkowski - Commissioner

Maureen Grove - Commissioner

Our History

The Board of License Commissioners regulates and enforces the provisions of the Alcoholic Beverage Laws as they are contained in the Annotated Code of Maryland and the Rules and Regulations governing the control and sales of alcoholic beverages in Washington County to promote and uphold the health, safety and general welfare of our community.

    bottom of page