GROWLER LICENSE - Refillable Container
GROWLER LICENSE / Refillable Container License - The Maryland General Assembly approved a growler bill for alcohol beverage licensees during the 2015 session. In Washington County this bill applies to all class A, class B and class D licensees who currently have a beer, beer and wine or a beer, wine and liquor license. The Board will issue a yearly growler license, upon request, to any licensee who meets the above requirements. This law will take effect on July 1, 2015. Annual license fee of:$500.00 for an applicant whose alcoholic beverage license does not have an off-sale privilege; and $50.00 for an applicant whose alcoholic beverage license has an off-sale privilege; and(1) An applicant that holds a license without an off-sale privilege shall meet the same advertising, posting of notice, and public hearing requirements as those for the license that the applicant holds. Hours – The hours of sale for a refillable container license:(1) Begin at the same times as those for the license already held by the person to whom the refillable container license is issued; and(2) End at midnight.
GROWLER REQUIREMENTS The requirements for the growlers are found in Article 2B, § 8-103, § 8-213.3 & 21-107: To be used as a refillable container for beer under the authority of a refillable container permit issued under this article, a container shall: Have a capacity of not less than 32 ounces and not more than 128 ounces; Be sealable and have a tamper proof piece of tape across or around the lid. Be branded with an identifying mark of the seller of the container; Bear the Federal Health Warning Statement required for containers of alcoholic beverages under 27 C.F.R. §16.21; Display instructions for cleaning the container; and bear a label stating that:1. Cleaning the container is the responsibility of the consumer; and 2. The contents of the container are perishable and should be refrigerated immediately and consumed within 48 hours after purchase. A retailer may refill a growler from any other retailer, even from outside the State, as long as the container meets the above requirements. Must have some type of label or type over the lid for new containers and refills. 27 C.F.R., § 16.21: Mandatory Label Information: There shall be stated on the brand label or separate front label or on a back or side label, separate and apart from all other information, the following statement: GOVERNMENT WARNING: (1) According to the Surgeon General, women should not drink alcoholic beverages during pregnancy because of the risk of birth defects. (2) Consumption of alcoholic beverages impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems. Effective July 1, 2015
$50.00 for an applicant with off sale privileges
$500.00 for an applicant that does not have an off sale privilege