top of page

BEER, WINE & LIQUOR TASTING LICENSE

 

BEER, WINE & LIQUOR TASTING LICENSE - In Washington County this bill applies to a holder of any class of license who currently hold a BWL license. The Board will issue a yearly beer, wine & liquor tasting license, upon request, to any licensee who meets the above requirements.  Annual license fee of $1,100.00 for 72 Tastings of the licensed establishments choice and they will be effective from July 1st to June 30th license calendar year.  Hours – The hours of sale for Tastings: Begin at the same times as those for the license already held by the person to whom the Tasting license is issued; And end at Midnight.  Scope of license: The Board of License Commissioners may issue a tasting license to permit on premises consumption of beer, wine & liquor for tasting or sampling purposes only to a holder of any class of license who currently hold a BWL license. The holder of a beer, wine & liquor tasting license may not charge for the tasting. The license is effective for use no more than 72 days for a 72-tasting license in a licensing year. The licensing shall notify the Board in writing at least 10 days in advance of any scheduled tasting date. Only one tasting per day, multiple tastings are not permitted on the same day. Licensees are permitted to post a sign advertising a beer, wine & liquor tasting with the day of the tasting event posted thereon. However, this sign can only be posted TEN (10) DAYS PRIOR TO THE EVENT and must be PROMPTLY TAKEN DOWN AT THE CLOSE OF THE TASTING. Licensee must submit a Beer, Wine & Liquor Tasting Event Notification BLC Form #25 to the office of the Board of License Commissioners for Washington County either by mail or fax 301-797-4599 or email to the admin@wcliquorboard.com, ten (10) days prior to the event. If the license holder does not follow these guidelines a $50.00 fine will be imposed.

This rule shall also apply to newspaper advertisements and other media advertising with regard to the upcoming event. Banners are allowed to remain up if they state a specific day each month, such as the 2nd Saturday of every month, however they must imply that the licensee is having a tasting every week. The licensee must follow the guidelines for the Beer Tasting License or a Wine Tasting License or a Liquor Tasting licenses. 

 

Annual Fee:

72 Beer, Wine & Liquor Tasting License - $1,100.00

Effective April 17, 2024

bottom of page