GROWLER LICENSE - Refillable Container - Wine

 

GROWLER LICENSE / Refillable Container License - The Maryland General Assembly approved a growler bill for alcohol beverage licensees during the 2019 session. In Washington County this bill applies to all class A, class B and class D licensees who currently have a beer, beer and wine or a beer, wine and liquor license. The Board will issue a yearly growler license, upon request, to any licensee who meets the above requirements. This law will take effect on July 1, 2020.  Annual license fee of:$500.00 for an applicant whose alcoholic beverage license does not have an off-sale privilege; and $50.00 for an applicant whose alcoholic beverage license has an off-sale privilege; and(1)  An applicant that holds a license without an off-sale privilege shall meet the same advertising, posting of notice, and public hearing requirements as those for the license that the applicant holds, unless they already hold a Growler license for Beer. 

Hours – The hours of sale for a refillable container license:(1) Begin at the same times as those for the license already held by the person to whom the refillable container license is issued; and (2) End at midnight. 

 

GROWLER REQUIREMENTS - for Wine

(a) There is a refillable container permit.

(b) A refillable container permit authorizes the permit holder to:

      (1) Sell wine for off - premises consumption in a refillable container that meets the standards set out in subsection (d) of this section; and

      (2) Sell and refill a refillable container that meets the standards set out in subsection (d) of this section. 

(c) (1) The term of a refillable container permit is the same as that of the underlying license. 

     (2) The hours of sale for a refillable container permit are the same as those for the underlying license. 

     (3) An applicant who holds an underlying license without an off-sale privilege shall meet the same advertising, posting of notice, and public hearing requirements as those for the underlying license.

(d) (1) To be used as a refillable container for wine under the authority of a refillable container permit, a container shall:

          (i) have a capacity of not less than 17 ounces and not more than 34 ounces;

          (ii) be sealable; with a label that goes across the top of the lid and attaches to the container. Must state the name of the licensed establishment, name of the product, fill date and expires 48 hours after opened. (SEE BELOW)

         (iii) be branded with an identifying mark of the seller on the container;

         (iv) bear the federal health warning statement required for containers of alcoholic beverages under 27 C.F.R. 16:21;

         (v) display instructions for cleaning the container; and

         (vi) bear a label stating that cleaning the container is the responsibility of the consumer. 

     (2) The Comptroller may adopt standards regarding containers that qualify for use as refillable containers for wine, including containers originating from outside the State. 

    (3) The holder of a refillable container permit may refill a refillable container originating from inside or outside the State that meets the standards adopted by the Comptroller under paragraph (2) of this subsection. 

 

Mandatory Label Information: There shall be stated on the brand label or separate front label or on a back or side label, separate and apart from all other information, the following statement:

GOVERNMENT WARNING: (1) According to the Surgeon General, women should not drink alcoholic beverages during pregnancy because of the risk of birth defects. (2) Consumption of alcoholic beverages impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems. 

Annual Fee:

$50.00 for an applicant with off sale privileges

$500.00 for an applicant that does not have an off sale privilege

Effective: July 1, 2020

SAMPLE OF LABELS

 

Establishment Name

Products Name

Fill Date: _____/_____/______

Expires 48 hours after opened

Establishment Name

Products Name

Fill Date: _____/_____/______

Expires 48 hours after opened

Bar

Code

The Holidays are coming up! So don't forget to pick up your Basket of Cheer permit or your One Day Event license. Don't wait until the last minute, do it today! 

Website Designer - Vaun Miles-Swain